Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha appointed as Chief Information Commissioner

Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha appointed as Chief Information Commissioner

Mr. Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha is appointed as the country’s Chief Information Commissioner by the President of India, Ram Nath Kovind.

The President has also appointed Heeralal Samariya as the Information Commissioner. The appointment will come into effect from the forenoon of 7th November, 2020.

The President administered the oath of the office to Mr. Sinha in a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Later, three newly selected Central Information Commissioners, former Labour Secretary Heera Lal Samariya, former Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General Saroj Punhani , and journalist Uday Mahurkar , administered the oath.

Mr. Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha is a former diplomat and served as a Commissioner for almost two years. He will hold the position of CIC for another three years.

Under the Right to Information Act, The Central Information Commission is the highest appellate body. The commission has not functioned at full strength for almost four years and is currently facing a backlog of more than 37,000 pending cases.

The new appointments will take its strength to six members plus one chief which still leaves four vacancies.

Sakshi Patil
“An Investment in Knowledge pays the best interest”. I Ms. Sakshi Patil currently pursuing Bachelors of Law (LLB) from Pune University ,and I believe that Knowledge is a commodity to share and it should be not remain the monopoly of selected few. Studying Law helps me understand how society is govern and how law acts as medicine to heal the society. Keeping positive and open minded approach in every aspect of life is the aim and I hope to learn with every opportunity and can help to those in need and create awareness among people about law and its importance. As quoted by Henry Ward Beecher, ”A Law is valuable not because it is a law ,but because there is right in it.”